« »

Greg Rzab

Band: John Mayall, Buddy Guy, Otis Rush
Gear: 1969 - 1972 SVT, Blueline, 1960's B-15, 1970's "Straight Back" 810 Cab

Born near the south side of Chicago, Greg Rzab began playing bass guitar at the age of fifteen practicing for hours to recordings by Jimi Hendrix, Little Walter and Curtis Mayfield. Greg also looked to bassists such as John Paul Jones and Jaco Pastorius for inspiration.

As a teenager he got to see Muddy Waters live and from that time on he constantly began hanging out at the Chicago blues clubs learning all he could and sitting in whenever given the opportunity. When Greg was twenty-one years old, he sat in with Otis Rush and immediately after was asked to play in his regular band which lasted for several years. He also kept busy working with a variety of other great blues legends such as Albert Collins, Luther Allison, Willie Dixon, John Lee Hooker, Hubert Sumlin and Junior Wells.

At a show with Junior, he met and played with Buddy Guy so beginning a twelve year stint in that band. Shortly after, Greg got an offer from John Mayall and happily joined him for a European tour in 1999 and 2000. But just as things were going well, Greg accepted the offer of a high profile gig with another of his heroes, Jimmy Page, that resulted in a reluctant departure from John.

After the tour with Jimmy came to an end, Greg was part of the Warren Haynes group ‘Gov’t Mule’ and he also recorded and played with Carlos Santana, Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck, The Allman Brothers Band, Stevie Ray Vaughan and The Black Crowes. At the beginning of 2009, Greg got an offer to work again with Mayall in a new band line-up that was being assembled and was very pleased to accept. Since then he has more than made his mark as a mainstay onstage and in the studio with John.


Abbi Roth

Abby Travis

Aden Bubeck

Al Cisneros

Andrew Cichon

Armand Sabal-Lecco

Bernardo Gosaric

Bob Glaub

Bob St. Laurent

Bruce Hall

Chi Cheng

Chris Beattie

Chris Squire

Chris Wyse

Chuck Wright

Cliff Williams

Conrad Korsch

Damien Sisson

Dan Maines

Danny Morris

Darryl Jenifer

Darryl Jones

Dave Fowler

Dave Larue

Davey Rimmer

David Hartley

Dennis Crouch

Diego Navaira

Dino “The Ampeg Guy” Monoxelos

Donald “Duck” Dunn

Emma Anzai

Eva Gardner

Gail Ann Dorsey

George M. Biondo

Graham DeLoach

Greg Rzab

Harmoni Kelley

Hayley Jane Batt

Hunter Burgan

Hutch Hutchinson

Jason Hardin

Jason Newsted

Jay McK

Jeff Pilson

Jenn Oberle

Jerry Jemmott

Jess Oliver

Jimi “Jazz” Prescott

Jimmy James

Jimmy Miller

John Stirratt

Johnny Stanton

Jon Button

Jon E. Gee

Jon Reshard

Juan Alderete

Juan Calleros

Justin Pearson

Kevin McPherson

Lee Hendricks

Lee Rocker

Lenny Bradford

Lex Price

Liam Wilson

Liza Carbé

Marc Sallis

Marco Mendoza

Mark Menghi

Matt Malley

Michael Bradford

Michael D’Amico

Mike Inez

Nathen Maxwell

Nicki Tedesco

Nikolai Fraiture

Pablo Stennett

Pat McCarthy

Phil Soussan

Randy Bradbury

Rex Brown

Rick “The Bass Player” Rosas

Ricky Phillips

Rob Wasserman

Robbie Harrington

Robbie Tkac

Robert Mercurio

Robert Trujillo

Roger Waters

Rudy Sarzo

Schmier (Marcel Schirmer)

Scott Owen

Sean McNabb

Shawn Scruggs

Sheryl Crow

Simon Rix

Stanley Clarke

Steve Fossen


Sunshine Cantu

Taras Prodaniuk

Téja Veal

Tim Lefebvre

Tobin Esperance

Tod Michael Bowers

Tony Levin

Tracy Goode

Wayne Banks

Wylie Gelber

Zev Katz

© Yamaha Guitar Group, Inc. All Rights Reserved.