« »

Matt Malley

Band: Counting Crows / Emitt Rhodes / Jon Anderson / Beverley Martyn / Jerry Donahue / Vishwa Mohan Bhatt
Gear: V-4B, SVT-212AV

Matt is a founding member of the multi-platinum band Counting Crows, appearing on all of the biggest hit records and singles. He co-wrote the single “Accidentally in Love” which became the title track for Shrek 2 and earned him Oscar, Grammy and Golden Globe nominations as a songwriter.

In 2004 and after 14 years in the band, Matt retired from Counting Crows to get off of the road. He did this because, as he puts it, “I wouldn’t miss my little boys growing up”.

Matt has been quite active since leaving Counting Crows, playing bass with artists such as Emitt Rhodes, Jerry Donahue and Beverley Martyn. Beverley’s newly released record, “The Phoenix and the Turtle” with Matt on bass, was released in early 2014 and received a 4 star review in Mojo Magazine.  Recently, he built a recording studio and made a solo album (playing all instruments and vocals), which got picked up by the prestigious label “Voiceprint” in the UK.  He also made a World Music record, collaborating with Grammy-winning Indian Slide guitarist Vishwa Mohan Bhatt, which got signed to the Harmonia Mundi, “World Village” record label and enjoyed global distribution.

If that wasn’t enough, he recently co-wrote a song with legendary Yes singer Jon Anderson called “Family Circle”; which was released by a UK label in 2014.  Matt played all instruments and wrote the music, while Jon composed/performed all lyrics and vocals.

Being a bass player isn’t just a hobby for musicians like Matt, it’s a lifetime mission!


Abbi Roth

Abby Travis

Aden Bubeck

Al Cisneros

Andrew Cichon

Armand Sabal-Lecco

Bernardo Gosaric

Bob Glaub

Bob St. Laurent

Bruce Hall

Chi Cheng

Chris Beattie

Chris Squire

Chris Wyse

Chuck Wright

Cliff Williams

Conrad Korsch

Damien Sisson

Dan Maines

Danny Morris

Darryl Jenifer

Darryl Jones

Dave Fowler

Dave Larue

Davey Rimmer

David Hartley

Dennis Crouch

Diego Navaira

Dino “The Ampeg Guy” Monoxelos

Donald “Duck” Dunn

Emma Anzai

Eva Gardner

Gail Ann Dorsey

George M. Biondo

Graham DeLoach

Greg Rzab

Harmoni Kelley

Hayley Jane Batt

Hunter Burgan

Hutch Hutchinson

Jason Hardin

Jason Newsted

Jay McK

Jeff Pilson

Jenn Oberle

Jerry Jemmott

Jess Oliver

Jimi “Jazz” Prescott

Jimmy James

Jimmy Miller

John Stirratt

Johnny Stanton

Jon Button

Jon E. Gee

Jon Reshard

Juan Alderete

Juan Calleros

Justin Pearson

Kevin McPherson

Lee Hendricks

Lee Rocker

Lenny Bradford

Lex Price

Liam Wilson

Liza Carbé

Marc Sallis

Marco Mendoza

Mark Menghi

Matt Malley

Michael Bradford

Michael D’Amico

Mike Inez

Nathen Maxwell

Nicki Tedesco

Nikolai Fraiture

Pablo Stennett

Pat McCarthy

Phil Soussan

Randy Bradbury

Rex Brown

Rick “The Bass Player” Rosas

Ricky Phillips

Rob Wasserman

Robbie Harrington

Robbie Tkac

Robert Mercurio

Robert Trujillo

Roger Waters

Rudy Sarzo

Schmier (Marcel Schirmer)

Scott Owen

Sean McNabb

Shawn Scruggs

Sheryl Crow

Simon Rix

Stanley Clarke

Steve Fossen


Sunshine Cantu

Taras Prodaniuk

Téja Veal

Tim Lefebvre

Tobin Esperance

Tod Michael Bowers

Tony Levin

Tracy Goode

Wayne Banks

Wylie Gelber

Zev Katz

© Yamaha Guitar Group, Inc. All Rights Reserved.